Global Fund CCM

  1. Home
  2.  » Global Fund CCM

What is the CCM?

At the country level, the South Africa Country Coordination Mechanism (CCM) is a partnership composed of all key stakeholders in the country’s response to HIV and Tuberculosis. The CCM does not handle GF financing itself, but is responsible for submitting proposals to the GF based on priority needs at the national level, and nominating the entities accountable for the PRs. After grant approval, the CCM oversees progress during implementation.

Click Here to Access the SA Global Fund CCM Membership List

CCM Announcements

Announcement of SA Global Fund Principal Recipients to implement the 2019-2022 grant

On 9 October 2018, the South Africa Global Fund Country Coordinating Mechanism (SA GF CCM) endorsed Principal Recipients (PRs) to implement the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria request for funding that will cover the April 2019 – March 2022 period.

The Principal Recipients (PRs) are:

For HIV, the request focuses on delivering comprehensive and integrated service packages for key and vulnerable populations, including adolescent girls and young women, sex workers, men who have sex with men, transgender people and people who inject drugs. For TB, the investment is geared towards finding the missing people with TB, supporting the National Department of Health’s quality improvement plan. To ensure that these disease programs are implemented effectively and efficiently, supporting investments are requested to remove gender- and human rights-related barriers to access, and strengthen the country’s procurement and supply chain, health information systems, and community-led responses.

The investment is expected to contribute towards the achievement of targets in South Africa’s National Strategic Plan for HIV, TB and STIs 2017-2022.

Request for Proposals (RFPs)


AFSA, Beyond Zero and NACOSA (the three Principal Recipients of a Global Fund HIV grant in South Africa) seek to appoint a service provider(s) to procure, warehouse and deliver health products to their sub-recipient sites.

For full details and how to apply read the TERMS OF REFERENCE >

Deadline for submission of bids is 13h00 on Thursday, 2 AUGUST 2022

Questions about this call for proposals may be submitted by email up to 20 July 2022 at 13h00. Please direct questions/queries in writing (only) to with the subject line “CFP-05-JPR1-07-2022 – Bid Query”.

Terms of Reference
Appendix A: HP Volumes
Appendix B: Delivery Addresses
Appendix C: Application Template

People Who Use Drugs Programme: NACOSA is inviting interested non-profit organisations, experienced in working with people who use drugs, and with presence in the West Rand, Sedibeng (Gauteng) or uMgungundlovu (KwaZulu-Natal) districts to apply to be considered as a sub-recipient organisation on the Global Fund grant. The deadline for applications is Thursday, 17 March 2022 at 13:00. HOW TO APPLY click here for more information.

Global Fund PRs have started advertising for Sub-Recipients for their various programmes in preparation for implementation which will start on 1 April 2019 – 31 March 2022. All interested parties are urged to apply.

CCM Structure

The GF CCM oversees grant implementation as mandated by GF requirements. Oversight entails a coordinated set of activities focused on gathering and analysing information, taking action, and communicating progress/bottlenecks. It addresses the ‘big picture’ of whether the grant is achieving its goals. It is designed to ensure:

  • grant activities are implemented as planned;
  • accountability of funds and value for money;
  • implementation issues and bottlenecks are identified and resolved; and
  • Support required by PRs is appropriately provided.

The Oversight Committee is responsible for providing oversight to existing Global Fund grants in South Africa in three key

  1. Financial – ensuring the appropriate, timely and effective use of Global Fund resources;
  2. Management – ensuring the timely and effective implementation of PR and SR workplans; and
  3. Programmatic – ensuring the achievement of intended results in both the short and intermediate term periods.


An ethics sub-committee is appointed by the GF CCM to review all grievances relating to areas where a sanction may be necessary or clarity on any potential conflicts of interest. The members of this sub-committee will be chosen by the full GF CCM and report to the GF CCM chairperson and co-chairperson. The sub-committee meets between GF CCM meetings as needed.

In regard to conflicts of interest, the aim is to have a committee that will investigate grievances of this nature, and to enable members to clarify whether a conflict of interest exists in a particular situation or not. The committee will provide guidance on what action should be taken when conflicts of interest occur. The committee will also improve the knowledge, understanding and practise of managing conflicts of interest in the GF CCM and other structures.


Current Oversight Committee Membership List

Constance Raphahlelo
PCA Chairperson
(Vacant) Main Member
Sibongile Tshabalala
Civil Society Main Member
Dr. Andrea Knigge
Development Partners Main Member
Dr. Andrew Scheibe
Civil Society Main Member
Collen Myane
Katlego Rasebitse
Civil Society Main Member
Kholi Buthelezi
Pebetse Maleka
Government Main Member
Susan Jed
Development Partners Main Member