SANAC Civil Society Forum elects new Sector Leaders

Jun 21, 2017 | Press Release

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Press Release
  4.  » SANAC Civil Society Forum elects new Sector Leaders

The SANAC Civil Society Forum (CSF) consisting of 18 sectors, recently elected leaders for the next 5 years. The ultimate goal of the CSF is to represent the views of civil society sectors in the policy deliberations within the SANAC Plenary and committees as well as to advocate for the policy and programme proposals of civil society for consideration by government and the private sector.

Each sector has an elected sector leader and two elected sector members.

The 18 sectors, as listed below, represent all facets of South Africa’s social fabric from the youth to traditional healers. This ensures a focused and unified response to HIV, TB and STI infections. The CSF also plays a pivotal role in the implementation of the National Strategic Plan for HIV, TB and STIs (NSP) – which is a guiding framework on how the country should respond to the three infections.

To ensure a free and fair process that is transparent and accountable, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) conducted the elections and properly audited results.

The following CSF leadership was elected and inaugurated as follows:

Ms Steve Letsike

Ms Prudence Mabele (PLHIV Sector)
Mr Solly Nduku (Traditional Health Practitioners)

Children: Mr Ernest Fraser

Disability: Mr Jacques Lloyd

Faith Based Sector: Pearl Moroasui

Health Professional Council: Dr Sizeka Maweya

Higher Education (HEAIDS): Dr Ramneek Ahluwalia

Labour Sector: Ms Jacqueline Bodibe
Ms Dorothy Ndlovu
Mr Charles Mkhumane
Mr Godfrey Selematsela
Mr Anthony Thobela

Law and Human Rights: To be elected

LGBTI: Ms Steve Letsike

Men Sector: Rev Bafana Khumalo

NGO Sector: Ms Mokgadi Malahlela

People living with HIV: Mr Mluleki Zazini (NAPWA)
People living with HIV: Mr Sello Mokalipi (PAC)
People living with HIV: Ms Prudence Mabele (PWN))
People living with HIV: Archbishop Mbulelo Dyasi (SANARELA)
People living with HIV: Mr Andrew Mosane (TAC)

Research Sector: Commissioner Sheila Khama

Sex Worker Sector: Ms.Thulisile Khoza

Sport and Entertainment Sector: Mr Mfundisi Mabalane

Traditional Health Practitioner Sector: Mr Solly Nduku

Traditional Leader Sector: Nkosi Kutala Jumba

Women Sector: Ms Khanyisa Dunjwa

Youth Sector: Mr Thembinkosi Josopu